A Day of Inspiration

In Australia, many beaches have free public swimming pools that are filled naturally with seawater that floods into the space when the waves crash against the low sides. The ingenuity of such a simple yet brilliant idea has stayed with me to this very day. © Charlie Bird

“I love this movie in particular because the woman on the far right looks JUST like my next door neighbor Rose.” As the class laughed, I couldn’t help but feel that Lori Nix is a genius. As well as all of her unique quirks (which are probably instrumental in her being the way that she is), Lori’s work is not only incredibly creative, but it also states profound sentiments about the way she views the world.

Drawing from her experiences as a child of the 1970’s and from her own questionings about the world that she lives in, Lori is able to create works that are nothing short of spectacular. Although I was most impressed with her ongoing project, “The City,” I found that her work as a whole was truly stunning. There were many moments where I simply just found myself shaking my head in disbelief at  her dedication to the task at hand because let’s face it, there’s absolutely no way that I could spend two months building such incredibly realistic models. Lori’s presentation of her work today was truly inspiring and has forever altered the way in which I view the world around me.

Earlier in the day, during Pete Souza‘s exhibition of The Obama Presidency at the Leica gallery, I spotted another photograph that showed a great deal of work, although not entirely that of the photographer’s. In the very first picture of the collection, entitled Speech Prep, Pete Souza displays how much time and effort goes into making the President’s speeches, with an abundance crossings out and rewrites dominating the page. Further into the exhibition was a picture that resonated deeply with me. In the photograph Bunny Ears, Mr. Souza captures a candid moment that occurred during the President’s visit to a diner in Missouri. Whilst posing for a picture with a patron, the man slyly crept his hand behind the President and made the famous “bunny ears” gesture. This seemingly harmless act shows the viewer how casual and genuinely relaxed one of the most powerful men in the world can be when it comes to interacting with the people who make up the nation. I found Souza’s style of photography, with his uncanny ability to be seemingly ever-present around the President, much akin to celebrity photographers such as Baron Wolman and Hedi Slimane, both of whom have bodies of work documenting the lives of various celebrities (mainly musicians) both past and present.

The impact that both photographers have had on my thought process as a result of viewing their work is profound, and I am very glad that I was able to partake in such an amazingly inspiring experience.

One thought on “A Day of Inspiration

  1. Wonderful, Charlie! I’m glad that it was such an inspiring day all around. Thank you for your thoughtful post.

Leave a Reply

